AOH Division 32 Hibernian of the Year & Service Awards – 2023

To assure that every dues-paying brother of Division 32 has the opportunity to vote for Hibernian of the Year and the Service Awards, your ballot is included. You **MUST** be paid-up in your dues for your ballot to be valid.

It can be handed to John Truel, at the Division 32 meeting on Sunday, February 12th, or postal mailed to him at 136 Cedar Blvd., Pittsburgh, PA 15228 for arrival no later than Monday March 27, 2023 deadline. Ballots will be tabulated promptly after the deadline.

Once all the ballots are in, a committee of the five recent Hibernians of the Year, to be determined by the current Division 32 president, will meet to tabulate the ballots and break ties by secret ballot where necessary. That committee will be chaired in 2023 by Paul Towhey Jr, who was the 2022 winner, and will consist of John Truel, Bill Delaney, Denny Donnelly, and Bernie Donnelly. (The 2023 Hibernian of the Year will take in the 2023 ballots and chair next year's committee, thus rotating the responsibility.)

Occasionally a non-member may be voted a special award, as when George Bado was named an Honorary Hibernian in 2003 and David Calabria was voted a special award in 2013.

It is possible to win Division 32's Hibernian of the Year Award and the Service Award more than once. All winners must be active members of the division. Efforts should be made by the committee to recognize all eligible individuals.

Ballots will be distributed approximately one month prior to the annual Communion breakfast, which in 2023 falls on April 16th, and must be submitted by March 27, 2023. The breakfast is always the 1st Sunday after Easter.

Hibernians of the Year:

Note: Although AOH Division 32 was established Sept. 17, 1989, this award was not given until 1993. LAOH 32 was established May 19, 1991.

Until 2003 there was no fixed pattern of one man and one woman being selected each year. Sometimes it was one man, sometimes one woman. In 1995 the award was given to the Joyce sisters. Because women exclusively sometimes won the award, all women winners are included in the roster below in the interest of completeness.

2022 - Paul Towhey Jr

2021 - John Truel

2020 - COVID

2019 - Bill Delaney and Peg Sembratt

2018 - Denny Donnelly and Sr. Patrice Hughes

2017 - Bernie Donnelly and Maureen Seuffert

2016 - Charlie Boehm and Trisha Burns

2015 - Pat Clark and Gerry Abbott

2014 - Tim Regan and Barb Lamb

2013 - Denny Maher and Betty Mullen

2012 - Bob Kelly and Sarah McAuliffe

- 2011 Jim Snatchko and Patricia McGrath
- 2010 Tim Murphy and Sharon McGrath
- 2009 Shag Shaughnessy and Onnie Costanzo
- 2008 Ed Blank and Kathleen Bado
- 2007 Bernie Donnelly and Joy Short
- 2006 Tim Trant and Maureen Schorr
- 2005 Fr. Jeremiah O'Shea and Tootie Stetter
- 2004 Mickey Abbott and Maureen Donnelly
- 2003 Pat McCann and Jeanne Keenan
- 2002 Dennis Donnelly
- 2001 Tom Welch
- 2000 Bill Delaney and Patti Flaus
- 1999 Nancy Gannon Anderson
- 1998 Ross Fullen and Judy Coyne
- 1997 John Walsh
- 1996 Roger Horgan
- 1995 Patsy and Fran Joyce
- 1994 Fr. Robert Coyne
- 1993 Dennis Murphy

AOH 32 Service Awards: All winners must be members of AOH Division 32. On occasion, a non-member may be voted a special award.

- 2021 Paul Towhey and Sean McBride
- 2020 COVID
- 2019 Shawn Seagriff
- 2018 Steve Tabone
- 2017 Eric Haenni
- 2016 Jim Rebel
- 2015 John Walsh
- 2014 Joe Marta
- 2013 Tim Regan and special award to Dave Calabria
- 2012 Jim Snatchko and Charlie Boehm
- 2011 Denny Maher and Bill Myers
- 2010 Bob Kelly
- 2009 Dan Taylor Jr.
- 2008 Pat Clark
- 2007 Ed Blank
- 2006 Brian Walsh
- 2005 Bernie Donnelly and James (Bear) O'Connell
- 2004 Steve Wayhart
- 2003 Fr. Jeremiah O'Shea
- 2002 Bob Carr
- 2001 Jim Nolan
- 2000 Bill Carr
- 1999 Jeff Kaduck
- 1998 Bill Murphy
- 1997 Tom Welch
- 1996 Jack Keenan
- 1995 Tim Trant 1994 - Bill Delanev

1993 - Dennis Donnelly 1992 - Pat McCann

1991 – Shag Shaughnessy 1990 – Fr. Francis Lachner

AOH DIVISION #32 NOMINATION FOR 2023 "HIBERNIAN OF THE YEAR"

PERSON NOMINATED:
NOMINATED BY:
REASON:
AOH DIVISION #32
NOMINATION FOR 2022 "SERVICE AWARD"
PERSON NOMINATED:
NOMINATED BY:
REASON:

Please return this form to aohdiv32@gmail.com. You are able to enter as much text into the fillable fields as you want. I will be able to read and print them. All votes will be tabulated by the beginning of April. The award winners will be presented at our Communion Breakfast on April 16, 2023